Aus bat against Pakistan in final Test

Pakistan made one change from the side that lost the first Test by 150 runs at Lord’s last week in what was opener Salman Butt’s first match as skipper.

Ex- skipper Shoaib Malik, a batting all-rounder, was recalled after Shahid Afridi, who led Pakistan at Lord’s, announced his retirement from Tests soon after the series opener and then saw his plan to bow out of the five-day format at Headingley scuppered by a side strain.

Shoaib Malik hit a fifty in his last Test against Australia at Hobart in January.

But in March, he was among the seven top players who were banned and fined for disciplinary reasons by the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Australia were unchanged after both pace bowler Ben Hilfenhaus, who injured his shoulder fielding at Lord’s, and Marcus North, who missed training earlier in the week with illness after taking a career-best six wickets for 55 runs in the first Test, were declared fit.

Ricky Ponting’s men were bidding for an eighth Test win in a row and looking to extend their record run of successive victories over Pakistan to 14.

This match was also South African Rudi Koertzen’s last as an international umpire.


Pakistan: Salman Butt (capt), Imran Farhat, Azhar Ali, Umar Amin, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal (wkt), Mohammad Aamer, Umar Gul, Danish Kaneria, Mohammad Asif

Australia: Shane Watson, Simon Katich, Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, Marcus North, Tim Paine (wkt), Steven Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Ben Hilfenhaus, Doug Bollinger

Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG) and Rudi Koertzen (RSA)

TV umpire: Nadeem Ghouri (PAK)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Pin It
  • cool2013

    Good Luck Pakistan Cricket Team and Salman Butt in final test against Aus