Afridi again to lead Pakistan in T20 and ODI cricket: sources

Pakistani all-rounder Shahid Afridi might be named as the skipper for the men in green’s ODI and T20 team. PCB might cash on the charming all-rounder once again to lead the green army for the limited-overs cricket.

Previously, Afridi was Pakistan’s limited-overs skipper while Misbah was the Test skipper. But after an unpleasant clash with the Ex- head coach Waqar Younis and PCB chief Ijaz Butt, Afridi temporarily retired from international cricket. He came back to international cricket once again when the period of Butt was completed. But he wasn’t reinstated as skipper. He played under the captaincy of Misbah-ul-Haq. As a skipper of Pakistan’s limited-overs team, Afridi excellently led Pakistan to reach the semifinal of last year’s ICC World Cup where his side was defeated by India at Mohali.

Despite the disasters of spot-fixing in 2010, Afridi gelled jointly a tattered Pakistan unit well to bring them back on winning path in the post spot-fixing era. As a skipper Shahid Afridi has led Pakistan in 34 ODIs and has won 18 of them while he has led in 18 T20s and has won 8 of them. He’s also led in 1 Test with a defeat after which he re-retired from Test format.

Pin It
  • Aquil Siddiqui

    I would suggest there should be different International teams and Captains for Pakistan in Test, ODI’s and T20’s.

    For Test team:1. M.Hafeez 2. Taufeeq 3. Azhar Ali 4. Younus Khan 5.Misbah(Captain) 6. Asad Shafiq 7. Adnan Akmal 8. Umer Gul 9. Abdul Rehman 10. Saeed Ajmal 11. Aizaz Cheema
    Reserves: Umer Akmal, Junaid Khan, Shoaib Malik, Hammad Azam

    For ODI’s team:1. M.Hafeez(Captain) 2. Nasir Jamshed 3.Yunous Khan 4.Asad Shafiq 5. Umer Akmal 6. Hammad Azam 7. Kamran Akmal 8. Shahid Afridi 9. Umer Gul 10. Saeed Ajmal 11. Aizaz Cheema
    Reserves: Shoaib Malik, Ahmed Shehzad, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan

    For T20 team:1. Imran Nazir 2. Nasir Jamshed 3. M.Hafeez 4. Umer Akmal 5. Shoaib Malik(Captain) 6. Hammad Azam 7. Kamran Akmal 8. Shahid Afridi 9. Rana Naveed 10.Umer Gul 11. Saeed Ajmal
    Reserves: Aizaz Cheema, Junaid Khan, Suhail Tanvir,Ahmed Shehzad

    • Faheem urrehman

      Hy mr aquil siddique what r u going to do. Shoaib malik has no place even in any format of cricket. And he performed lazy cricket and you r thinking to bring him as a captain.and on other hand Boom Afridi is the man who can control the team pakistan in both formats(t20 and ODI).and misbah ul haq should also be in test team it does’nt matters either as captain or a team man.

  • Qasim

    Afridi is the best choice as captain in t20 and odi for pakistan…. Because none of the players is more experienced than shahid khan ……..
    M hafeez is the worst player,opener and of course captain . And imran nazir is more better although best choise as a opener for t20 and odi’s thanks.