PTI loses NA-19 seat to PML-N after re-polling

PTI lost the seat of National Assembly NA-19 Haripur, KPK as Omer Ayub Khan of PML-N won the NA-19 Haripur seat after re-polling on 7 polling stations. by defecting suspended MNA Raja Aamar Zaman.


As per the details, Raja Aamar Zaman had secured 1,16,579 votes and beat PML-N candidate Omer Ayub Khan who got 1,14,374 votes in the general polls 2013. The PML-N later challenged the election results. Raja Aamar Zaman emerged as the winner after the recount on all 437 stations of the constituency, however, his lead was reduced from 2205 to 1304. Omer Ayub then went to the Supreme Court and sought re-election. As per his petition, several polling bags did not have a relevant voters list or counterfoils of ballot papers, which show rigging.

The apex court referred the case to the election tribunal which suspended Raja Aamar Zaman’s membership of the National Assembly and ordered a re-election on polling stations Alloli, Mamrial, Bagra Number 2, Kalinjar, Ghazi Hamlet and two polling stations of Khalabat Township.

Pin It