Sri Lanka drop Mendis and Chandimal for Pakistan series

Sri Lanka have named a 15-man team for the 1st 2 home Tests against Pakistan in August, dropping wicketkeeper Dinesh Chandimal and spinner Ajantha Mendis from the line-up. Sri Lanka lost their most recent Test series at home, 1-0 to South Africa, and while Chandimal didn’t play, Mendis was bad and took no wickets in the 2nd Test in Colombo.

Chandimal, Mendis

This means Niroshan Dickwella, who made his debut in the series to fine effect, gets to keep the gloves in the absence of the hurt Prasanna Jayawardene, while Rangana Herath and Dilruwan Perera remain the frontline spinners. Fast bowlers Suranga Lakmal and Shaminda Eranga have been included, but are there on conditions of showing their physical fitness. Nuwan Pradeep returns to the team after missing the SA series due to injury.

The team is for the 1st two of the three-match series, which is also experienced batsman Mahela Jayawardene’s final series before retirement at the end of August.

Pin It