Saeed Ajmal named in ICC’s World T20 squad

Pakistan’s spinner Saeed Ajmal was named in the ICC  team of the World T20 competition on Monday, a day after West Indies defeat hosts Sri Lanka to win the title. A five-member ICC panel chosen 3 Sri Lankan cricketers and two each from the new champs and Australia in the 11-man squad, the governing body said in a report.

Pakistan were knocked out of the competition after a semi-final defeat against Sri Lanka. Outgoing Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene was named captain a day after he declared his decision to quit the captaincy after his team lost by 36 runs on Sunday, Sri Lanka’s 4th consecutive defeat in a World Cup final, in front of a sad full house at the R Premadasa Ground in Colombo. Chris Gayle and all-rounder Shane Watson, the player of the event, were named openers while India’s Virat Kohli, Jayawardene, England’s Luke Wright and explosive West Indies batsman Marlon Samuels filled up the middle-order positions.

Aussie fast bowler Mitchell Starc and Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga were the 2 quick bowlers in the squad, while Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka was named as the other slow bowler. Ex- New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum was chosen as the wicket-keeper, while South Africa were the only main cricketing country without a representative in the squad.

Pin It
  • Andy

    It really great to see Saeed Ajmal named in ICC’s World T20 squad. I think ICC take very fine decision to select Ajmal in team cause he is very fine and great spinner and All the batsman struggling to play against him. He really deserved to select for ICC Team.