Dwayne Bravo to captain West Indies in Champions Trophy 2013

Dwayne BravoAll-rounder Dwayne Bravo has changed Darren Sammy as the West Indies skipper for next month’s ICC Champions Trophy in England, in a move targeted at reinvigorating the ODI team of the Caribbean.

The latest move, announced Saturday (May 4) by the West Indies Cricket Board, will relieve Sammy of a few loads of the captaincy, which saw him leading the squad in all forms, reports CMC.

Sammy will, however, continue as skipper of the Tests and Twenty20 teams.

Our results in Tests and  Twenty20s have been showing consistent progress and Sammy deserves every praise for the work he has done in leading and molding the squad in these formats, chief selector Clyde Butts stated.

‘We remain confident in his leadership in these formats and will recommend that he continues as the captain for the Test and T20 cricket. However our ODI results were not as strong and we believe that it is best that we freshen the leadership of the team in this format’.

Team: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Denesh Ramdin (vice-captain), Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith. Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Tino Best.

Pin It