Ball change costs umpire Aleem Dar Champions Trophy final: British media

Aleem DarThe change of the ball during England`s loss to Sri Lanka in the group stages has apparently cost Pakistani umpire Aleem Dar a chance to be an on-field official in today’s ICC Champions Trophy final. English skipper Alastair Cook was unsatisfied along with Aleem Dar for changing one of the match balls in their defeat to Sri Lanka at The Oval a week ago, leading to rumors of ball tampering. And the British press thought that the ball change episode might be a cause of the ICC`s decision to remove Aleem Dar from on-field responsibilities.

“England have been spared one potential concern in the Champions Trophy final with Aleem Dar relegated to the peripheral fourth umpire role,” a report in the `The Guardian` said today. “Dar`s role as fourth umpire will be purely supportive – one of his official roles is to make sure the batteries are working in the light meters,” it added.

Kumar Dharmasena and Rod Tucker have been named as the on-field umpires for tomorrow`s final between India and England, while Bruce Oxenford will discharge the responsibilities of the 3rd umpire.

Search Terms:

Pin It